The KCC Foundation hosts several events each year supporting our scholarship students and thanking our generous donors and members of the KCC community. Check back often for upcoming event dates and times or contact us for more information.

Bruin Scholarship Open

A group photo of Bruin Scholarship Open organizer, sponsors and volunteers. When: Friday, Sept. 6, 2019
Where: Binder Park Golf Course, Battle Creek

2019 Sponsorship and Registration: Click here

This annual signature event raises funds for the KCC Foundation General Scholarship Program. Since 1998, the Bruin Open has raised over $1.1 million from generous sponsors, donors and golfers. Many students’ lives have been impacted by the funds raised at this event. Students are able to take their first college steps at KCC or walk across the stage to receive their diploma. All because of the tremendous support for this event.
At the 21st annual event on Sept. 7, 2018, 230 golfers, 130 sponsors and over 100 staff and volunteers helped raise $100,000 for student scholarships. At each Bruin Scholarship Open, we offer “start from your cart” service assisted by our dynamic athletic teams, super scramble golf, lunch, dinner, gift bags, raffles, game holes, putting contest and more. Click the 2018 Bruin Open Sponsors to see a list of our generous supporters and contributors.

Celebration of Donors & Scholars

When: Fall 2019
Where: KCC Miller Physical Education Building
Over 350 scholarship recipients, donors, KCC Board of Trustees, KCC Foundation Board Members and KCC staff come together to express gratitude, honor the generosity of donors, and to meet student awardees. Student speakers at the Oct. 2018 event were Virginia Ontita, Carlee Allen, Branna Richardson, Trayvon Thompson and Archie Wright. Alumni speakers were Danyelle Gregory and Gregory Moore. Donor speakers were John Dilworth, Cecelia McCaleb and Sue Stetler.

Bid a Brighter Future

When: Jan. 3, 2019
Where: Binda Performing Arts Center
When: 11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
This annual KCC employee auction and raffle began in 2004 and nearly $130,000 has been contributed by KCC staff, faculty and administrators for the benefit of KCC student scholarship awards or emergency needs. Special activities such as a wine pull and games add to the excitement of the event that already features a silent auction of over 100 items, prize and cash raffles. The 2019 Bid a Brighter Future theme, “Around the World”, featured international flags, food and games. Many thanks to the KCC employees and community who donated items, served on the committee, and helped raise over $9,600 for the Beyond Tuition Fund for student emergency needs.

Starfish Awards

The Starfish Award program was established in 1999 and is based on the classic Starfish Story of a young man who sees an old man picking up stranded starfish at the beach and throwing them back into the sea. The award recognizes a Kellogg Community College faculty or staff member who has played a significant role in a student’s educational career at KCC. Nominations are submitted by graduating KCC students in the spring and recipients are announced at the college’s annual commencement breakfast. Nomination forms will be available at the KCC Foundation office by Jan. 7, 2019 for the 2018-2019 academic year or you can go to to submit a nomination online.

In 2018, the KCC Foundation received 28 submissions and presented a Starfish Award to 5 individuals. To see the list of nominees, nominators and submission descriptions, go to 2018 Starfish Awards submissions.

Pictured below are the five 2018 Starfish Award winners and the students who nominated them, along with KCC President Mark O’Connell and KCC Foundation Executive Director Teresa Durham.

A group photo of KCC's 2018 Starfish Award winners and the students who nominated them.

2018 Starfish Award Winners

  • English Professor Ron Davis, nominated by student Renee Richardson.
  • Anatomy and Botany Professor Cynthia Herbrandson, nominated by student Tiara Cannon.
  • Early Childhood Education Secretary Linda Iriel, nominated by student Kelly Rogers.
  • Nursing Professor Renee Mielke,  nominated by students Danielle Crafts, Tiffany Hansard and Briana Ramirez.
  • Early Childhood Education Specialist Ann Miller, nominated by students Rebecca McKenzie and Kelly Rogers.