Starfish Awards

The Starfish Award honors and recognizes faculty and staff of Kellogg Community College for excellence in education. Nominations for the award are submitted by graduating KCC students. The Starfish Award is presented at the annual Commencement Breakfast.

2014 Starfish Award Winners


The 2014 Starfish Award winners, pictured above with KCC President Dr. Dennis Bona and the student(s) who nominated them, are:

  • Theatre Instructor/Coordinator Brad Poer, nominated by student Jesse Alexander Talamantez.
  • Nursing Instructor Karen Kulhanek, nominated by students Sarah Okamoto and Desiree Anne Zoet.
  • RMTC Welding Paraprofessional Bob Day, nominated by student Chad Orton.
  • OIS/Business Instructor Kimberly Madsen, nominated by students Erin McLain, Victoria R. Mellino and Asia Robinson.
  • Admissions Representative Russ Bortell, nominated by student Taylor Lewis.
  • English Instructor Elizabeth Kerlikowske, nominated by student Tiffany Thatcher.