KCC > Information Services > Employee Support > Web Applications > Moodle Support

Chat

The chat activity module allows participants to have a real-time synchronous discussion in a Moodle course. This is a useful way to get a different understanding of each other and the topic being discussed – the mode of using a chat room is quite different from the asynchronous forums. The Chat module contains a number of features for managing and reviewing chat discussions.

Please note that all the students in the chat at the time can see what is written, it is not a chat that is one-on-one, it is more of a group chat.

Step 1 Editing

 Login to course and Turn editing on, located in the Course administration.

Turn editing on

Step 2 - Add

Click on the “Add an activity or resource” Add an activity or resource, there is a pop-up window that will have all the activities and resources listed.

Add an activity or Resource clickable link

Step 3 - Name

The name that is typed here will form a link for the students to click on to enter the chat, so it is helpful to give it a name that suggests its purpose - example “Virtual Office Hours“.

Chat General Settings

Name of this chat room

Whatever you type here will form the link learners click on to enter the chat so it is helpful to give it a name that suggests its purpose – for example “Student council discussion” or “Field trip planning meeting”.

Description

The description of the assignment, which should include precise instructions for students regarding the subject of the assignment, the form, in which it should be submitted, the grading criteria etc.

Step 4 Chat Session

Next chat time

  • The day and hour of the next chat session. This will appear in the calendar so students know the schedule but it doesn't stop them accessing the chat-room at any other time.

  • If you don't want them in the chat-room at other times, then hide it (with the eye icon) or use Conditional activities to restrict access.

  • If you don't wish to schedule chat times then ignore this and choose from the next settings.

Repeat/publish sessions

There are four options for scheduling future chat sessions:

Don't publish any chat times

There are no set times and students are welcome to chat at any time.

No repeats - publish the specified time only

Only the Next chat time will be published. This could be used to schedule special events or meetings or simply to help learners identify a common time in which they can expect to find other learners in the chat room.

At the same time every day

Daily chats are useful for scheduling daily office hours or work sessions with learners.

At the same time every week

This setting will schedule a chat for the same day and time every week, which could be useful for instance for meeting and reviewing key ideas and questions related to the week’s content/assessment.

Save past chat sessions

When users (two or more) participate in a chat session, a record, or complete transcript of the session is created.

Choose from the drop-down how many days to save - or save everything by selecting Never delete messages

If you have any concerns about discussions that might take place in your chat room, you may want to keep transcripts to check the suitability of what is discussed. If your learners are using the chat-room to collaborate on a group project you won't want to delete the messages until the project is complete.

Everyone can view past sessions

Decide here whether or not allow everyone to view past chat sessions. (Teachers can always view past sessions)

Chat sessions image

Step 5 Group Mode

When course group mode is turned on, the group mode can be one of three levels: No groups, Separate groups or Visible groups.

Common module settings or groups

Step 6 Restrict access settings

The restrict access section asks for the conditions when the activity (or resource) should be visible. This can be based upon dates, and/or score ranges of other activities and/or if other activities are considered completed. Note that ALL access restrictions (date, grade condition, activity completion condition) have to be met in order for the activity to be made available.

Restrict access image

Allow access from

The Access from date determines the day, month and year students may first access the activity via the assignment name link on the course page. To activate this option, click in the Enable check-box to add a tick.

Grade Condition

This setting determines any grade conditions which must be met in order for students to access the activity. Multiple grade conditions may be set using the 'Add 2 grade conditions to form' button. If there are multiples completion conditions applied to an activity, it will only be accessible to learners when all grade conditions are met.

Before activity can be accessed

Before a learner has fulfilled the the Grade Conditions specified above and the activity is still inaccessible to them, you can choose whether to show the activity grayed-out on the course page with the grade conditions listed (restriction information) or to hide the activity from learner view entirely.

Step 7 Save or Cancel

Save and return to course-Allows to save and go back to main Moodle page.

Save and display- Allows to save and display new page/activity.

Cancel- will not save any changes, and send back to main Moodle page.

 

 

CONTACT US

MEET US
450 NORTH AVENUE
BATTLE CREEK, MI 49017
CALL US
269.965.3931
FOLLOW US
Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Subscribe on Youtube