Student Clubs & Organizations

How to register a new student organization

PTKAn organized group of enrolled KCC students, coming together for a common purpose, may begin a new registered student organization (RSO). To register a new RSO, follow these steps:

  • Ensure that your organization is unique to currently active RSOs
  • Name your RSO
  • Develop a constitution for the organization, including:
    • The name of the organization
    • Organization objectives and purpose
    • Membership information
    • Information about officers and their duties
    • KCC’s nondiscrimination clause
  • Identify the organization’s advisor(s) by name and position with the College
  • Include a current list of officers, including their KCC ID numbers and contact information
  • Include a current list of members(a minimum membership of seven currently enrolled KCC students is required)

Once this information is secured, schedule a meeting with the director of Academic Advising and Student Life to discuss your organization’s registration.

Registered Student Organizations (RSOs) at KCC

Anime Club (Inactive)
Advisor: Jim Middleton
Ext. 2554 or middletonj@kellogg.edu

The purpose of the Anime Club is to allow members to preview anime not readily available on American television, to hold discussions about anime, to provide opportunities for group trips to conventions and to end misconceptions about anime.

Art League
Advisor: Ryan Flathau
Ext. 2559 or flathaur@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Pete Williams
Ext. 2565 or williamsp@kellogg.edu

The Art League is a club open to all students interested in expanding their knowledge for art. A variety of activities outside the classroom are offered to encourage greater art appreciation by club members.

Campus Republicans
Advisor: Jonathan Williams
Ext. 2229 or williamsj@kellogg.edu

The purpose of Campus Republicans is to bring together students interested in the political process and, in particular, the Republican party. Students will develop a greater understanding and appreciation of society and the political process through discussion, forums and other activities and competitions.

Chess Club
The Chess Club meets at noon every Wednesday at the RMTC to engage in competitive chess play.

College Democrats of KCC
Advisor: Susan McCabe
Ext. 2520 or mccabes@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Peg Stapleton
Ext. 2224 or stapletonm@kellogg.edu

This purpose of the College Democrats of KCC club is to endorse involvement with the community, encourage citizens to vote, uphold core democratic values and promote awareness of current events.

Crude Arts Club
Advisor: Matt Samra
Ext. 2258 or samram@kellogg.edu

The Crude Arts Club is an informal group of KCC students who are devoted to writing. They are, in essence, a group of writers, thinkers and talkers. The club meets once a week for an hour in the Morris Learning Resource Center (the day and time vary each semester) to share poems, stories, ideas and opinions. In addition to providing support for young writers at KCC, the Crude Arts Club hosts campus poetry readings and organizes fundraising activities.

Suess theatre 1Encore Theatre Company
Advisor: Brad Poer
Ext. 2558 or poerb@kellogg.edu

The Encore Theatre Company is open to all students interested in developing theatrical experiences on and off campus. The goal of the company is to entertain and educate audiences, explore theater and expose drama to all age groups. Students are encouraged to offer their support and talents to the community.

Film Club (Inactive)
Advisor: Matt Samra
Ext. 2285 or samram@kellogg.edu

The Film Club views films based on certain themes. The films serve as enrichment functions through exposure to the medium of film and discussions of the films’ social contexts.

Members of The Gathering student organization play card games in the Kellogg Room.The Gathering
Advisor: Anna Cox
660-2333 or coxa@kellogg.edu

The Gathering is a club in which students can come together to play various card games in a safe and private environment. The club helps build an understanding of the mechanics of each game and allows players to partake in monthly tournaments in which they can win prizes.

Healthy Choices Leadership Organization
Advisor: Natala “T.J.” Mohl
Ext. 2647 or mohlt@kellogg.edu

The purpose of the Healthy Choices Leadership Organization is to inform and educate KCC students about healthy lifestyle choices, with a special emphasis on issues related to the abuse of alcohol, tobacco and other drugs.

Human Services Club

Advisor: Sheila Matthews
Ext. 2215 or matthewss@kellogg.edu

The Human Services Club promotes the professional growth of the human services worker and works to improve the delivery of human services care.

International Studies Club
Advisor: Michelle Wright
Ext. 2217 or wrightm@kellogg.edu

The goal of the International Studies Club is to enhance the cultural understanding and global awareness of its members. Through contract with each other and the community, the ISC acts as a forum for thought and helps facilitate understanding between cultures.

Kampus Activities Board
Advisor: Drew Hutchinson
Ext. 2600 or hutchinsond@kellogg.edu

The Kampus Activities Board is a group of students interested in planning activities on campus and being actively involved on campus. The KAB also provides representation for the student body and acts as a liaison between the student body and KCC staff and administration.

KCC Golf Club (Inactive)
Advisor: Ron Davis
Ext. 2284 or davisr@kellogg.edu

The purpose of KCC Golf Club is to stimulate interest in golf at KCC by working to promote and conserve the best interests and true spirit of the game of golf as embodied in its ancient and honorable traditions.

KCC Road Runners
Advisor: Holly McKee
Ext. 2629 or mckeeh@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Michelle Wilson
Ext. 2234 or wilsonm@kellogg.edu

The KCC Road Runners group is open to all KCC students interested in promoting good health in a fun, positive way through running and other physical activities.

KCC Career Club
Advisor: Patrick Casey
Ext. 2636 or caseyp@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Chuck Newman
Ext. 2094 or newmanc@kellogg.edu

The Career Club is designed for students to enhance their career research and employment strategies with emphasis on local employer networking, learning about and utilizing new technology, and learning and applying best practices.  K4Cs is headed by a student leadership group that will help decide the direction of the club.

Phi Theta Kappa
Advisor: Angie Bess
Ext. 2093 or bessa@kellogg.edu

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society in which membership is by invitation only. Students in the organization must have completed 12 or more semester hours with a 3.5 or higher grade point average. New KCC students may be invited to provisional membership based on their high school academic achievement and leadership activities.

Physical Therapist Assistant Club

Advisor: Tracy Wood
Ext. 2322 or woodt@kellogg.edu

The Physical Therapist Assistant Club is interested in education, community service and promoting awareness of physical therapy. The club’s purpose is to enrich and broaden the views and knowledge of students in the field of physical therapy while participating in community service opportunities.

Psi Beta
Advisor: Donn Montgomery
Ext. 2227 or montgomeryd@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Dan Nelson nelsond@kellogg.edu

The mission of Psi Beta is to advance the professional development of psychology students through the promotion and recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership, research and community services.

Spectrum
Advisor: Gerald Blanchard
Ext. 2566 or blanchardg@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Terah Zaremba
Ext. 2603 or zarembat@kellogg.edu

Spectrum works to provide a safe and supportive social setting for gays, lesbians, bisexuals and transgendered individuals and their allies, as well as any other interested parties, and to provide educational resources to the campus community regarding issues of sexual diversity.

Student American Dental Hygiene Association
Advisor: Bridget Korpela
Ext. 2325 or korpelab@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Laura Saye
Ext. 2302 or sayel@kellogg.edu

The Student American Dental Hygiene Association is open to dental hygiene students who are attending KCC or any other accredited school of dental/oral hygiene. The purpose of the association is to promote the art of dental hygiene science.

Student Nursing Association
Advisor: Elizabeth Fluty
Ext. 2420 or flutye@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Karen Kulhanek
Ext. 2317 or kulhanekk@kellogg.edu

The Student Nursing Association is open to nursing students attending KCC. The association’s objectives are to cultivate, promote and sustain the art and science of nursing; to represent and safeguard the common interest of the members of the nursing profession; and to contribute to the improvement of public health.

Tech Club, Societus Technica
Advisor: Doug Mann
Ext. 2268 or mannd@kellogg.edu

The Tech Club is the oldest club on campus. It is open to any KCC student with an interest in science and technology professions. The club strives to increase student awareness by highlighting the need for technicians to stay up to date on current advancements in technology.

True Life Fellowship
Advisor: Roderick Simmons
Ext. 2621 or simmonsr@kellogg.edu
Advisor: Kate DeGraaf
Ext. 2211 or degraafk@kellogg.edu

The student-run Bruin Christian Fellowship club is nondenominational and open to all students. Bible studies, speakers and other activities are used to enhance students’ spiritual development.