Below is a history of Kellogg Community College leadership since the institution’s founding as Battle Creek Community College in 1956 up to present day.

Mr. DavidsonHarry R. Davidson, Superintendent

Superintendent, Battle Creek Public Schools (1954-72), founder and superintendent of Battle Creek Community College (1956-1959), Kellogg Community College (1959-1970). Under his leadership, the College was chartered and developed. Mr. Davidson was co-founder (1974) and past President of the Battle Creek Community Foundation. He is remembered as having served the Battle Creek Schools with high distinction, bringing a rare combination of administrative skill, educational insight, business judgment and public relations discernment.

The Harry R. Davidson Visual and Performing Arts Center is named in his honor.

Dr. HattonDr. Robert O. Hatton, Director

Director of Battle Creek Community College (1956-1959), Kellogg Community College (1959-1962).  Robert Hatton was born in 1922, in the city of Lexington, Michigan. He received his BA and MA in Educational Psychology and PhD in Educational Administration from Michigan State University. Dr. Hatton was hired by the Battle Creek Board of Education to be the first Director of the College. Under his leadership, the College transitioned from its modest beginnings in GAR Hall to the College’s new North Avenue campus. Dr. Hatton resigned in 1962 to accept a position in Oregon as Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction for Community Colleges.

Dr. BillingsleyDr. Leon C. Billingsly, Director

Director of Kellogg Community College (1963-1964). Dr. Billingsly came to Battle Creek from Joplin, Missouri, where he was Dean at Joplin Junior College. In 1964 he returned to Joplin Junior College, which later became Missouri Southern State University, serving as their first President until 1978.

Dr. WhitmoreDr. Richard F. Whitmore, President

Director of Kellogg Community College (1964-1970) and the first President of Kellogg Community College (1971-1986). Whitmore held a PhD from the University of Nebraska and had been a full professor at the University of Arizona. He provided stability when the College gained independence from the Battle Creek School System and became a county-wide district. Dr. Whitmore sought to enhance Kellogg Community College’s reputation through his activities on a national level. During his tenure, the College began offering classes at off-campus locations in partnership with local schools.

The Richard F. Whitmore Administration Center was named in his honor.

Dr. OhmDr. Paul R. Ohm, President

President of Kellogg Community College (1986-2004), starting in August of 1986. A teacher and counselor in the Cleveland Public Schools, Dr. Ohm later moved into administration in Ohio and Pennsylvania community colleges before becoming president of Belmont Technical College in St. Clairsville, Ohio. Dr. Ohm earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from John Carroll University in Cleveland and a doctorate from Kent State University.

During his tenure, campus centers were built in Coldwater, Hastings and Albion to make college accessible to more students. The Regional Manufacturing Technology Center (RMTC) opened to serve business and industry needs through unique partnerships between employers and the College. The Kellogg Community College Foundation was created to provide financial assistance to the students and programs of the College.

He served on the Executive Board of Battle Creek Unlimited, Chair of the Battle Creek Educators Task Force, and Chair of the Michigan Community College Association. After his retirement from KCC, Dr. Ohm served as the President of the Robert B. Miller College.

The Ohm Information Technology Center is named in his honor.

Dr. HaringDr. G. Edward Haring, President

President of Kellogg Community College (2004-2010). Dr. Haring was active in the higher education profession for nearly thirty years. He had been a professor, a Dean, an Assistant Vice President, a Vice President, and an Executive Vice President. Dr. Haring received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in physics from Indiana State University. His doctorate is from the University of Iowa in Higher Education Leadership.

Some of Dr. Haring’s professional service activities include being a member of the Policy Advisory Board of the Battle Creek Area Math and Science Center, the Barriers to Employment Steering Committee with the City of Battle Creek, the Calhoun County Technology Alliance, the Instructional Coordinating Council with the Calhoun County Intermediate School District, and the United Way of Greater Battle Creek (Board Chair, 2010).

Dr. Haring retired on June 30, 2010.

Dr. BonaDr. Dennis J. Bona, President

President of Kellogg Community College (2010-2015). Dr. Bona has worked at Kellogg Community College since 1979 in various positions, including an Industrial Trades welding instructor, Dean of Career and Occupational Education, Director of the Regional Manufacturing and Technology Center (RMTC), and as Vice President for Instruction. He earned a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Western Michigan University and prior to this degree, earned degrees in Trade and Technical Education and Welding Technology. Dr. Bona assumed the presidency of Kellogg Community College in September of 2010.

He retired from the College in June 2015 to accept a new leadership position as President, Northland Community & Technical College (Minnesota).

Mark O'ConnellMark O’Connell, President

President of Kellogg Community College (2016-2020). Mr. O’Connell was appointed Interim President in March 2015, filling a vacancy due to the retirement of Dr. Bona. Mr. O’Connell has worked at the College in various capacities since 1990. His position prior to this was as Vice President of Administration and Finance, leading the College through more than a decade of building and renovations for the 21st Century Project. He holds a master’s degree in education administration from Western Michigan University.

Dr. Adrien L. Bennings, PresidentKCC President Dr. Adrien Bennings.

President of Kellogg Community College (2020- ). Dr. Bennings is the College’s sixth president.  Prior to serving as a vice president at Clovis Community College, Dr. Bennings held several positions in human resources, administration, finance, instruction, and small business development.  She is a former track and field athlete at the collegiate and professional levels.   Dr. Bennings earned her Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from Texas Tech University.

Kellogg Community College Trustees

  • Elizabeth H. Binda (1970-1997)
  • Dr. Dominic S. Cannatti (1970-1979)
  • Stanley Everett (1970-1974)
  • Robert D. Gifford (1970-1973)
  • Louis T. Perry (1970-1977)
  • Michael J. Rae (1970-2005)
  • Edward J. Swan (1970-1985)
  • Dr. Allen J. Weenink (1973-1982)
  • Morris Stulberg (1975-1981)
  • A.D. Liebert (1977-1983)
  • Ann Rosenbaum (1979-2009)
  • Eugene D. Hamaker (1981-2011)
  • John V. Harper (1982-1989)
  • Viola S. Carr-Phillips (1983-1995)
  • Robert G. Grimes (1985-1991; 1991-1993; 2001-2007)
  • Donald Thomason (1989-1999)
  • Arthur W. Angood (1993-2007)
  • Dr. John B. Morris, Sr. (1997-2007)
  • Joseph J. Tubilewicz (1999-2001)
  • Judith L. Burken (2005-2011)
  • Jonathan D. Byrd (2007- )
  • Matthew A. Davis (2007- )
  • Reba M. Harrington (2007-2018)
  • Brian C. Hice (2007-2014)
  • Jill Booth (2009- )
  • Julie Camp Seifke (2011-2019)
  • Steve Claywell (2011- )
  • Patrick O’Donnell (2015- )
  • Carla Reynolds (2018- )
  • Xenia McKay (2019- )